Buccaneers sign 41 players for 2014 season


When Keith Thomas was named the Blinn College football coach on Dec. 19, he knew he had a lot of work to do to catch the rest of the Southwest Junior College Football Conference on the recruiting trail.

Through hard work, hours of phone calls and thousands of miles on the road, Thomas and his staff signed 41 players in time for National Signing Day today.

“I was hired so late that we were already a month and a half behind,” Thomas said. “So when I first took over, my staff and I sat down and broke down every position and looked at where we were really weak, and those are the areas we heavily recruited.”

With holes in the offensive line and various positions defensively, the Buccaneers signed 10 offensive linemen and 14 defensive players, eight of those in the secondary.

Signees include Tralund Webber, a defensive linemen for Cameron Yoe who was named the Class 2A defensive MVP in the state title game; Donnell Greene, a 6-foot-6, 320-pound defensive lineman; and Bailey Burton, an offensive guard from Clear Creek High School.

Thomas said the offensive line will be young this upcoming season, but the Bucs should overcome their inexperience with an explosive offensive style.

“We’re going to be running a fast-paced offense and we’re going to be getting rid of the ball quick,” Thomas said.

Running that offense will be one of five quarterbacks: Luke Klingler, offensive coordinator Jeremy Klinger’s nephew; Jarrett Hildreth, a 6-5, 208-pound two-star recruit from Clear Creek High School; and Shane McCarley, a transfer from Old Dominion University who played under Jeremy Klingler at Manvel High School, all signed with the Buccaneers today.

The Bucs signed five Brenham High School players, including 6-foot, 250-pound offensive lineman Taylon Shephard and wide receiver James Homan. Blinn has also invited Brenham defensive backs Desmond Lockett and Ryan Nunn and offensive lineman Neal Mathis to join the team this fall.

For more information on Blinn athletics, visit www.buccaneersports.com.


Brandon Jackson A&M Consolidated
Emmanuel Gabriels Alief Elsik
Byron Riggs Anahuac
Taylon Shepard Brenham
James Homan Brenham
Neal Mathis Brenham
Desmond Lockett Brenham
Ryan Nunn Brenham
Tralund Webber Cameron Yoe
Luke Klingler Cinco Ranch
Trent Soechting Cinco Ranch
Logan Machalec Cinco Ranch
Bailey Burton Clear Creek
Jarrett Hildreth Clear Creek
Davin Pierce Dr. Phillips
Shawun Lurry Dwyer
Jaylon Bowden Elkins
Luke Clements Floresville
Michael Spiller Hightower
Justin Johnson Judson
Malik Pryor Judson
Donnell Green Kell
Dillon Marburger La Grange
Wayne Noak La Grange
Wes Scott La Grange
Cori Jones La Grange
Robert Cox O’Conner
Craig McWilliams Pflugerville
Roderic Rucker Port Arthur Memorial
Ovidio Hernandez Roma
Paul LeBlanc Jr. Spring Westfield
Alexander Hoskins Teague
Zach Krolczyk The Woodlands
Quinton Trice Waco University
Jordan Randolph Waco University
Dayon Goodwin Willis
Cleophus Toliver Willis
Joshua Wilhite Hightower
Joshua Cuellar Porter
Albert Jacobs Port Arthur Memorial
Meldrick Matthews Port Arthur Memorial
Avery Jordan Pearland


 Story courtesy: Matt Keyser, Blinn Information

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry