18/4A Player of the Year: Earnest Patterson

18/4A Player of the Year: Earnest Patterson
(Courtesy: Larry Urquhart)

Earnest Patterson, the record-setting junior running back for the Brenham Cubs has been named the District 18/4A Player of the Year.

Patterson rushed for a school-record 2,447 yards in 2013, breaking the previous record of 2,304 yards set in 1972 by Cleveland Franklin.

Patterson also scored 27 touchdowns this season (24 rushing; two receiving; and one kickoff return).

Patterson is one of 24 Cubs honored by District 18/4A coaches who voted on the awards Tuesday (1/7). 

This past season, the Cubs won their fifth-straight district championship with an 8-0 mark.  It was also the Cubs’ fourth-straight unbeaten district campaign (30-straight district wins).

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: James Homan (Courtesy: Larry Urquhart)

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: James Homan
(Courtesy: Larry Urquhart)

Senior receiver James Homan was one of three players to be named Co-Offensive Player of the Year.  Homan caught 44 passes for 930 yards and eight touchdowns.

Junior quarterback Caleb Hill was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year.  Hill, who moved to Brenham this summer from 2A Little River, threw for 2,493 yards with 24 touchdowns and just five interceptions.

Cubs head coach Glen West was once-again named 18/4A Coach of the Year.  West is 158-41 in 16 season at the helm of the Cubs’ program.  He is one win shy of 200 career wins (including his record at Kemp).

All five of the Cubs’ offensive linemen were honored.  Four were named to the first team: Senior tackles, Austin Schlottmann (6’5”, 285) and Jeremy Arnold (6’4”, 250); senior guard, Neal Mathis (6’0”, 275); and, senior center Jaylon Whitley (5’10”, 240).  Junior guard Dalton Nutt (5’11”, 240) was named to the second team.  Schlottmann was the only unanimous selection on offense.

First-team honors on offense also went to: senior tight end, Courtland Sutton (28 receptions, 626 yards, eight touchdowns); sophomore fullback Jordan Graves (seven touchdowns); junior quarterback Walter Thomas (nine rushing touchdowns, five passing touchdowns).

Senior wide receiver Tyler Watts (31 receptions, 287 yards) was named to the Second Team All-District.

On the defensive side of the ball, six Cubs were named to the first team and five received second team honors.

Unanimous First-Team Defense: Taylon Shepherd (Courtesy: Larry Urquhart)

Unanimous First-Team Defense: Taylon Shepherd
(Courtesy: Larry Urquhart)

The only unanimous picks on the first team defense were senior tackle Taylon Shepherd and senior cornerback Malik Wilson.  Wilson was also named first team kick returner.

Also named to the first team were: senior defensive end Braden Baird; senior inside linebacker Erik Yeager; and, senior safety Desmond Lockett.

Named to the second team defense: senior safety Courtland Sutton; junior outside linebacker Tre’markes Smith; senior inside linebacker Ryan Nunn; senior defensive end Ja’Michael Adams; and, junior tackle Al’Fondrick Bennett.

In all, 24 Cubs received All-District honors: 17 first teamers and 7 on the second team.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry