The Texas Department of Public Safety says they are beginning concerted efforts across the state on enforcing the Move Over/Slow Down law.
The periodic operations by DPS Troopers are planned throughout the year, with several operations planned in February.
The law, originally passed in 2003, requires motorists to move over or slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit when certain vehicles – including police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks – are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated.
DPS Director Steven McCraw says, “Troopers and other offices risk their lives every day for the people of Texas, and their safety is particularly vulnerable while working on the side of the road, where the slightest mistake by a passing motorist can end in tragedy.”
Violations of the law can result in a fine of up to $200; the fine increases to $500 if there is property damage. If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.
In 2017, DPS issued more than 10,650 warnings and citations to motorists violating the Move Over/Slow Down law.