Four more Brazos Valley counties have been added to the list of disaster declarations by Gov. Greg Abbott.

Abbott announced 24 counties were added to the list of disaster declarations, including Burleson, Leon, Madison and Milam counties. There are now 70 counties that have received a proclamation from the governor's office.

Additionally, the governor requested public assistance for Grimes and six other counties affected by the recent storms.

Grimes County will receive aid to pay for part of the costs of rebuilding damaged infrastructure, emergency protective measures and public services, repair of damaged public property, loans needed for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

TxDOT spokesman Bob Colwell said there is about $1 million in damage across 10 counties in the Bryan District.

Grimes, Burleson and Milam were hit the hardest by severe weather.

Abbott has also announced his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration

If approved, the federal declaration would allow counties with disaster proclamations to receive funding and assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.


Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry