It was literally standing room only at the Burton School Board meeting Monday evening as interested members of the community stood around the edges of the conference room as the meeting took place.  The board canvased the election results and swore in David Warner Sr., Tracey Cox and Jeff Harmel as board members.  The board then named Demetrius Colvin Sr. to continue as its President, Jeff Harmel as Vice-President and Linda Hasten as Secretary.

Shelia Ripple (L) issues the oath of office to board members Tracey Cox, David Warner Sr., and Jeff Harmel as a packed room looks on Monday.

The board voted to secure a loan for up to $150,000 for the purchase of school busses for the district.  Superintendent Dr. Edna Kennedy said that the school district has been approved for a $128,000 grant from the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality for two 59 passenger busses and one 77 passenger bus, but the grant will not be awarded until September 1st.  The total cost for the three busses would be approximately $264,000 and three older busses of the same size would have to be traded in as part of the grant program.

The Board accepted the resignations of two instructors, science teacher Susan Abke correction - English Teacher Lacey Aubihl (Susan Abke's resignation was accepted at the April board meeting) , and Coach Kurt Ramsey.  They also voted to hire two instructors, Baily Dallmeyer and Francis Hyles to 1 year contracts.  They also welcomed two new hires to the district, Katie Kieke from Bellville and softball coach James Little from Rice Consolidated.

The board also voted to request a low attendance waver day for February 7th of this year.  On that day, only 84 percent of the students were in attendance due to illness, compared to 97 percent on that day in 2017.  If the TEA grants the low attendance waiver, the district won’t be penalized in funding for that day.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry