The Brenham Economic Development Foundation (EDF) is starting the election process for its board of directors.

Ballots will go out starting today (Monday) to EDF members for the election of five directors to a three-year term on the board from December 2021 through 2024.

Three current directors are eligible to serve another term.  Those include Chris Cangelosi of Citizens State Bank, Darren Huckert of Garza EMC and Jim Kolkhorst of Kolkhorst Foods.

Three additional nominees appear on the ballot: Clayton Collier of Collier Construction, Kyle Merten of Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative and Randy Weidemann of Van Dyke Rankin.

The election will conclude on November 15th, and the winners will be announced.

After December 1st, with the five newly elected directors, the remainder of the board will include Blake Brannon of Brannon Industrial Group, Chad Gerke of The Gerke Law Firm, Catherine Kenjura of Lacina & Kenjura, Tee Dippel of Brenham National Bank, Randy Hodde of Hodde Real Estate, Trey Hardy of Germania Insurance, Amanda Stolz of Seidel Schroeder, Barney Loesch of Thrivent Financial, Mike Hopkins, Jr. of Mike Hopkins Distributing, Jimmy Lawhorn of Blue Bell Creameries and Melissa McCune of Baylor Scott & White.

Matt Bentke of Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative and Jarvis Van Dyke of Van Dyke Rankin will retire from the EDF after each having served nine years on the board of directors.

The EDF was created in 1953 to promote the development of industry in the city and the creation of jobs in the community.  To learn more, visit

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Back to top button