DPS RAMPING UP MOVE OVER/SLOW DOWN ENFORCEMENT
The Texas Department of Public Safety says they have begun stepping up enforcement efforts across the state focusing on violations of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law.
One of those operations will take place in the Brazos Valley throughout the day, today (August 15).
The law, originally passed in 2003, requires motorists to move over or slow down when emergency vehicles – including police, fire, EMS, Texas Department of Transportation vehicles and tow trucks – are stopped on the side of the road with emergency lights activated.
DPS Director Steven McCraw says, “Troopers and other offices risk their lives every day for the people of Texas, and their safety is particularly vulnerable while working on the side of the road, where the slightest mistake by a passing motorist can end in tragedy.”
Specifically, Texas law states that a driver must either:
- Vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction) or
- Slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow down to 5 mph)
Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and legally; otherwise, they should slow down.
Violations of the law can result in a fine of up to $200; the fine increases to $500 if there is property damage. If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.
Preliminary data from January through June 2018 shows that DPS issued more than 22,000 warnings and citations to motorists violating the Move Over /Slow Down law.
The Department of Transportation will also be participating in a non-enforcement capacity.
