Residents needing to take driving tests or apply for a form of driver’s license can begin making appointments in Washington County today (Friday).

(courtesy DPS)

As part of the Texas Department of Public Safety’s (DPS) reopening plan, offices in its north and southeast Texas regions—including Washington, Austin, Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, and Waller Counties—will begin scheduling appointments at 1 p.m.  However, offices in those counties will not physically reopen until June 3rd.

Meanwhile, offices in DPS’ central and south Texas regions—including Fayette and Lee Counties—reopen today, after appointments for those regions became available Tuesday.

Offices are reopening only for appointments, and only for customers who are in need of driving tests or do not have a Texas driver’s license, CDL, learner’s permit, or ID card.  License renewals will not be offered.

Governor Greg Abbott’s previous disaster declaration allows for the extension of any identification cards, licenses, or election certificates that expire on or after March 13th.  The extension will remain valid for 60 days after DPS announces that the extension period has been lifted and normal operations have resumed.

Customers will be screened prior to entering the building, and must adhere to social distancing guidelines.  Customers who are taking a driving test will be required to wear a face mask or facial covering.

To schedule an appointment, go online to www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Back to top button