The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) is continuing its enforcement efforts of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law.

DPS puts on these enforcement operations throughout the year in different parts of Texas.  One of those operations will take place throughout tomorrow (Wednesday) in the Bryan District.  The Department of Transportation will be participating in a non-enforcement capacity.

The law, originally passed in 2003, requires drivers to either move over or slow down when certain vehicles – like police, fire, EMS, TxDOT vehicles and tow trucks – are stopped on the side of the road with their emergency lights on.

Specifically, law says a driver must either vacate the lane closest to the stopped vehicle, or slow down 20 miles-per-hour below the speed limit.  Drivers should only move over if they can do so legally and safely; otherwise, they should slow down.

Violators of the law can be fined up to $200, or up to $500 if there is property damage.  If violators cause bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.

Data from last year shows that DPS issued more than 41,000 warnings and citations to violators of the Move Over/Slow Down law.  Preliminary data from January to February this year shows an additional 2,800 issued warnings and citations.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry