Texas A&M University Chancellor John Sharp is one of 10 Aggies selected to receive the Distinguished Alumnus Award this year.

John Sharp

The award recognizes Aggies who have achieved excellence in their professions and made meaningful contributions to Texas A&M and the communities.  It is the college’s highest honor awarded to former students.

A&M and The Association of Former Students have given the award to 281 Aggies since the award was first bestowed in 1962.

This year's honorees include Sharp, served more than three decades in public offices including state representative, state senator and state comptroller.  In 2011, he became chancellor of The Texas A&M University System. In 2017, Texas' governor tapped him to lead the Governor's Commission to Rebuild Texas, post-Hurricane Harvey.

Also to be honored in October will be:

L.D. (Duke) Hobbs, Jim Singleton, Eddie Joe Davis, Charles L. Pence, A. Dwain Mayfield, Joe B. Swinbank, Robert Earl Keen, Kathleen Miller Gibson, and Graham Weston.

The Association of Former Students will honor the award recipients during its annual Distinguished Alumni Gala on Oct. 5.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry