Three members of the Brenham Cubs football team have been named Second-Team All-State by the Texas Sportswriters Association.

Senior running back Ernest Patterson, senior wide receiver Jaquay Cross and sophomore kicker Tien Pham were each honored by the TSWA.

(L-R) Ernest Patterson, Jaquay Cross, Tien Pham
(L-R) Ernest Patterson, Jaquay Cross, Tien Pham

Patterson, the Cubs’ all-time leading rusher, ran for 2,332 yards and scored 35 touchdowns, giving him 5,076 yards and 67 total touchdowns for his career.  Patterson was also named Second Team kick returner.

Cross had a school-record 1,116 yards receiving and tied the school record with 18 touchdowns catches.

Pham converted 65-of-68 PAT’s and 9-of-10 field goals.  He also made a clutch 25-yard field goal on the game’s final play to defeat Elgin, 45-42 in the Area Round of the playoffs.

Also named TSWA All-State:

First Team Offense: Rakeem Boyd, RB, Stratford.

Second Team Offense: Kee Kee Johnson, RB, Bryan.

Third-Team Offense: Jarvis Lister, FB, Bryan; Derrick Dick, WR, A&M Consolidated; Jared Spivey, C, Bryan; Ryan Bowersox, K, College Station.

Third Team Defense: Randy Cessna, DL, College Station; Desmond Payton, LB, College Station; Coleman Johnson, P, Bryan.

Aledo quarterback Luke Bishop and Ennis defensive end James Lockhart were named players of the year.


Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Back to top button